[update location]

Sarb launches new coins in celebration of 25 years of democracy in SA


CAPE TOWN – On Wednesday the 5th of June, the South African Reserve Bank launched a number of new circulation coins in celebration South Africa’s 25 years of Constitutional democracy.

Sarb governor Lesetya Kganyago said that the new circulation coins aim to highlight a few of the rights that resonated the most with citizens that were surveyed in South Africa.

The six new commemorative circulation coins are:

  • R2 ‘Children’s Rights’, designed by Neo Mahlangu
  • R2 ‘Right to Education’, also designed by Mahlangu
  • R2 ‘Environmental Rights’, designed by Maaike Bakker
  • R2 ‘Right to Movement and Residence’, designed by Rasty Knayles
  • R2 ‘Freedom of Religion, Belief and Opinion’, designed by Peter Mammes
  • R5 ‘Let us Live and Strive for Freedom’, designed by Lady Skollie

The rest of the series includes an R50 bronze alloy coin depicting two interlocking hands, symbolising togetherness.

Another R50 coin features an image depicting the line made when people were standing in line to vote during the first democratic election.

An R500 gold coin was also added to the collection, depicting the Constitutional Court of South Africa, which was designed by Shaun Gaylard.

Written by: Staff Writer.

Guzzle Media 


Categories :